Kenya High Commission
 in Botswana

About Kenya


The Republic of Kenya attained its independence from British rule on 12th December 1963.

Kenya is a unitary state with a Multi-party Presidential System whose hallmark is a Devolved System of Government. The executive authority of the Republic of Kenya is vested in the President, the Deputy President with the assistance of Cabinet Secretaries. The Cabinet Secretaries are nominated by the President and appointed subject to the approval of the Parliament.

Republic of Kenya

The current President is H.E Uhuru Kenyatta who was sworn in on 9th April 2013 following the 4th March 2013 elections, the first under the Kenya Constitution which was promulgated on 27th August 2010. He took over from H.E President Mwai Kibaki who served for a two five year term as per the constitution.

The Senate consists of sixty seven members consisting of; forty seven members each elected by registered voters in each of the counties; sixteen women members who are nominated by political parties in accordance to their numerical strength; two members, being one man and one woman, representing persons with disabilities. The speaker of the Senate is an Ex- officio member. The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice who is also the president of the Supreme Court. In addition to the Supreme Court other superior courts are the Court of Appeal and the High Court. The Subordinate Courts which include the Magistrates' Courts among others are established under Article 169 of the Constitution.

Uhuru Kenyatta

National Assembly and the Senate

The legislative arm of Government is Bicameral, consisting of the National Assembly and the Senate. The National Assembly consists of two hundred and ninety members each elected by registered voters in each constituency; forty seven women each elected by registered voters in county and twelve members nominated by political parties in accordance with their numerical strength in National Assembly to represent special interests such as the youth, and persons with disabilities. The Speaker is an ex-official member of the Assembly.

Government Structure

The Government of Kenya under the new Constitution consists of: The Executive; Legislature, Judiciary and the Devolved Government.

The Executive

The President, the Deputy President and the Cabinet constitute the executive arm of the Kenyan government.

The President is the Head of State and Government, Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, and the chairperson of the National Security Council.

For further information on the President, please click on the following link

The Deputy President is the President’s principal assistant.

For further information on the Deputy President, please go to the website:

The Parliament
Kenya’s Parliament consists of two houses: the National Assembly and the Senate.

For further information on the Parliament, please click on the following link.,

The Judiciary

The Judiciary is divided into Superior Courts and Subordinate Courts. The Superior Courts are: the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and the High Court. The Supreme Court is the highest court in Kenya. The Subordinate Courts are: the Magistrates Courts, the Kadhi Courts, the Courts Martial and the Tribunals.

For further information on the Judiciary, please click on the following link:

The Devolved Government

The Kenyan Constitution establishes 47 Counties, each with its own government. The County governments consist of the County assembly and the County executive. The County Governor is the head of the County executive.

Kenya Government

Statehouse, Kenya –
Ministry of Foreign Affairs & International Trade –
Ministry of Interior & Coordination of National Government(Department of Immigration) –
Ministry of Devolution & Planning-
Ministry of Defence-
Ministry of Health-
Ministry of Education-
Ministry of Information, Communications & Technology –
Ministry of East African Community –
Ministry of Commerce, Tourism & East Africa Region-
Ministry of Industrialization & Enterprise Development –
Ministry of Transport & Infrastructure –
Ministry of Energy & Petroleum –
Ministry of Environment, Water and Natural Resource –
Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock & Fisheries –
Ministry of Mining-
Ministry of Land, Housing & Urban Development-
Ministry of Sports, Culture & the Arts-
Ministry of Labour, Social Security & Services-
The National Treasury-